2014 Lok Sabha elections: Election Commission of India announces dates

Finally, the election commission of India has announced the schedule for 2014 Lok Sabha elections. This is the first time that elections for the Indian Lok Sabha will be held in nine phases, reports Indian Express on March 6, 2014.

2014 Lok Sabha elections

Election will be held during April 7 to May 12, vote counting will be done on March 16 and results will be announced on the same day.

Apart from Lok Sabha, elections will also be held for the state assemblies of Sikkim, Orissa and Andhra Pradesh including Telangana region.

The bulk polling is to take place on six days wherein the maximum number of polling for 122 constituencies across 13 states will be held on April 17 followed by polling for 177 constituencies across 12 states on April 14.

On the other hand, Naxal affected states of Jharkhand, Orissa, Chhattisgarh and Bihar will vote on April 10, 17 and 24.

Uttar Pradesh and Bihar will have six polling days, whereas West Bengal and Jammu & Kashmir will have five polling days. Total number of days for the whole election procedure is 72, which is 3 days less to last time duration.

The election commission of India has taken holidays, harvest season, festivals, school examinations and mansoon together with time taken by the security personnel to move from one place to another into account to ensure hassle free elections. For the detailed information on the election schedule of India, please visit this link.

About Parasshuram Shalgar 196 Articles
A well-versed news editor for over 14 years now, Mr Shalgar’s articles have been circulated to well over 60+ million visitors.