Telangana bill passed in Loksabha amid protests

Amid attempts by several MPs to disrupt the proceedings, the Lok Sabha passed the Telangana bill by voice vote on Tuesday. Many MPs who were suspended for protests over the bill attempted to enter the House.


After the unprecedented scenes previous week (pepper spray usage on the floor of the House), ambulances, marshals and fire brigade were kept on a standby. About sixteen members from the Seemandhra region, belonging to Congress, TDP and YSR Congress were suspended from the House till February 20.

Vehicles surrounding the Parliament were checked and barricades were kept around the complex with police deployed. The main entrance was blocked for vehicles and members had to walk to the Parliament building. Even the bags were checked and filming videos or taking photos in the house were barred.

Union home minister Sushilkumar Shinde said that he had already moved the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill, 2014. Ministers and MPs from Seemandhra region rushed into the Well of the House. Speaker Meira Kumar asked to stop the telecast of the session on TV and Marshals were called in to stop any disruption to proceedings inside Parliament.

The BJP has already given its unconditional support asking the government to provide adequate compensation to Seemandhra and address other concerns.