Jayalalithaa swearing in: Congress to decide on appeal in Supreme Court

AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa returned as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, for the fifth time. The swearing-in ceremony of Jayalalithaa took place at Madras University Centenary Auditorium. Twenty-eight other ministers also took oath along with Jayalalithaa.

Jayalalithaa was forced to step down seven months ago after she was convicted in a disproportionate assets case, which was later struck down by the Karnataka High Court

AIADMK cadres have been celebrating Jayalalithaa’s return since yesterday. The chain of events started on Friday morning at 7.15 am when all AIADMK MLAs assembled at the party headquarters to elect Jayalalithaa as the leader of legislature party.

jayalalita security

Following this, O Panneerselvam resigned as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. Immediately after, the governor invited Jayalaithaa to form the government.

After nearly seven months, Jayalalithaa made her first appearance from her Poes Garden residence and drove straight to Raj Bhavan to hand over the list of 29 Cabinet Ministers. Then she went on to garland statues of three leaders – Anna, Periyar and MGR.

During these activities, the main part of the city came to halt for three hours and was full of Jayalaithaa’s posters and boards.

On Saturday morning, the beach road heading to Madras University, where Jayalalithaa took oath, was blocked to give a easy ride to VVIPs.

Around 11:15 am, Jayalalithaa took oath as the Tamil Nadu CM again.

Experts believe that governance will be restored post her return and one can see an “active” government which was missing for the last seven months. Some of the major welfare schemes under the Amma brand are expected to go on full stream now.

The prominent personalities who were present on the occasion include India Cements Vice Chairman N Srinivasan and SPIC Chairman Emeritus A C Muthiah.

Both former BCCI Presidents were friends initially, but their relationship turned bitter later. Muthiah was the first one to raise conflict of interest charge against Srinivasan, who was both the BCCI President as well as had interest in IPL team Chennai Super Kings.

The other representatives from Chennai’s corporate world present included MRF Chairman, T T Kannan of Thyagaraja Group and others.

Jayalalithaa returns to power, takes oath as Tamil Nadu CM for the 5th Time

Kollywood starts Rajinikanth, Sarathkumar (who also heads a party which is a partner of AIADMK) and Prabhu were also present.

ranjita shalgar
About S Ranjita 445 Articles
Ranjita is a seasoned writer on a variety of topics. She has been writing for 8 years now on various international publications. Entertainment and current news topics are her favorite. She can be reached at [email protected]