“Bhaag Milkha Bhaag” awarded Best Film award at Filmfare awards

The 59th Filmfare Awards took place on Jan 24, 2013 at YRF studios in Mumbai. The annual awards that honour the best in Bollywood is considered as the Indian equivalent of Oscars.
The sports biopic “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag”, based on Olympic athlete Milkha Singh won maximum of six awards at the event including best film, best director for Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, best actor for Farhan Akhtar, best lyrics for Prasoon Joshi for ‘Zinda’ song, best costume for Dolly Ahluwalia and best production design.

Karan Johar’s movie “Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani” which had total nine nominations failed to win an award.

Actress Deepika Padukone, who had a fabulous year with four back-to-back hits scored the best actress award for Sanjay Leela Bhasali’s “Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela”. Actress Supriya Pathak Kapur won the best supporting actress award for the film.

Ritesh Batra’s “The Luncbox”, that won the Critics Week Viewers Choice Award at the Cannes Film Festival, won best debut director, best film (critics’) and best supporting actor award for Nawazuddin Siddiqui.

Musical hit “Aashiqui 2” won best music director for Ankit Tiwari, Mithoon and Jeet Ganguly, while Arijit Singh won the best male playback singer for the popular song “Tum hi ho”. Monali Thakur won best singer in female category for her song ‘Sawar Loon’ from ‘Lootera’.

Actor Dhanush who wowed everyone with his performance as a lover boy from Banaras in “Raanjhanaa” won the best debut actor award.”Shuddh Desi Romance” actress Vaani Kapoor won the best debut award.

Actor Rajkumar Rao won best actor in critics category for his role in the movie “Shahid” and actress Shilpa Shukla won best actress in the critics category for “BA Pass”. Best dialouge and best story awards went to Subhash Kapoor for “Jolly LLB”. Best screenplay and best sound design award went to “Kai Po Che”. Best cinematography and the best sound design award went for the film “Madras Cafe”. Best editing award honour went to “D-day” and best VFX award was won by “Dhoom 3”.

Actress Tanuja was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by Amitabh Bachchan for her outstanding contribution to Indian Cinema.

The event which was hosted by Priyanka Chopra and Ranbir Kapoor also saw performances by Madhuri Dixit Nene, Priyanka Chopra, Ranveer Singh and Shahid Kapoor. The awards will be telecast on Sony TV on January 26 at 8PM.