IPL 7 first few matches to be held in UAE

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on March 12, 2014 that the first few matches of the IPL 7 will be held in the United Arab Emirates. This is due to the impending elections for Lok Sabha in India.
The seventh edition of the annual league cricket tournament is scheduled to start from April 16, 2014 and will be ending on June 1, 2014. At least 16 matches of the tournament that will be played from April 16 to April 30, will be held in UAE.

The statement of BCCI said that they have approached the Ministry of Home Affairs in India, seeking permission for playing IPL matches in Indian cities for the period of May 1, 2014 to May 12, 2014. The matches will be played only in states where the polling has concluded. However during this period if the matches are not possible in India, the IPL matches will be held in Bangladesh.

See Also:  WarGames wrestling live stream: Watch WWE Survivor Series 2023 online, start time, full card and more

BCCI stated that once the polling is concluded in all the states i.e. from May 13, 2014, all the remaining matches including the playoffs will be played in India. These matches will not be scheduled on the counting day which is May 16, 2014.

The detailed schedule of matches for the Pepsi IPL 2014 will be released soon by the BCCI.